Yes, you are reading it right. The National Payments Corporation of India has announced prize money of Rs 54.90 Crore to over 3.42 Lakh winners for lucky draw schemes of NITI Aayog for merchants and consumers.

NPCI Declares Rs 54.90 Crore Prize Money

Digi-Dhan Vyapar Yojna and Lucky Grahak Yojna are the two schemes. The schemes were introduced on December25, 2016 and will be open until April 14, 2017. The schemes are focused on encouraging merchants and consumers to support digital payments. There are almost 15,000 daily winners given the total prize money of Rs 1.5 Crore. Apart from this, prize money of Rs 8.3 Crore is given to almost 14,000 weekly winners.

The top 5 states with the highest number of winners are Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, and Karnataka. Both women and men actively participated in the scheme from across the regions. Most of the winners belonged to the age group of 21 to 30.

Merchants and customers using any method of digital payments such as Bharat Interface for Money (BHIM), Unified Payments Interface (UPI), Aadhaar-enabled Payment Service (AePS), or RuPay Card are entitled to win the weekly and daily lucky draw prizes.

National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI) is a non-profit institution for all retail payment systems, which allow the people to have unrestrained access to e-payments in India.

Were you aware of the Digi-Dhan Vyapar Yojna and Lucky Grahak Yojna schemes? What are your views regarding the same? Feel free to share your thoughts.